Did you know...
Did you know that the all of the Information Commons computers, located on the first floor of Richter Library, have SPSS and SAS installed?
Databases
- ICPSR
ICPSR is the world's largest archive of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Data collections available for secondary analysis include national opinion polls, attitude surveys, census and economic data. - LexisNexis Statistical
Statistical Universe indexes national and international statistical reports and other documents published by the U.S. government branches and agencies, state agencies, & the World Bank. Full-text coverage is provided from 1995 to present.
Websites
Statistical Reference Shelf
FedStats provides easy access to statistics and information produced by more than 100 US Federal Government agencies.
National Center for
Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the nation’s
principal health statistics agency. Data are collected from birth and
death records, medical records, interviews, direct physical exams and
laboratory testing. The site contains a link to “FASTATS A-Z” which
allows the user to search for health statistics by topic. The site
provides both summary-level and micro-level data. Data from the
following studies and surveys is available on the NCHS website:
- Health, United States
- National Health Interview Survey
- National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
- National Health Care Survey
- National Vital Statistics System
- National Immunization Survey
- National Hospital Ambulatory Medical Care Survey
- National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey
- National Survey of Ambulatory Surgery
- National Hospital Discharge Survey
- National Nursing Home Survey
- National Home and Hospice Care Survey
- National Employer Health Insurance Survey
- National Health Provider Inventory
Centers for Disease Control
The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) is the federal agency that is
responsible for developing and applying disease prevention and control,
and preparing health promotion and education activities designed to
improve the health of the people of the United States. Links to data
and information on the following surveys and studies available on the
CDC website include:
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
- Pediatric Nutrition Surveillance System
- Pregnancy Nutrition Surveillance System
- Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance
- WISQARS- (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System)
CDC Wonder
This site provides links to a wide variety of reports and numeric
public health data. Topics include chronic diseases, communicable
diseases, environmental health, health practice and prevention, injury
prevention, and occupational health.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Although the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the federal agency
that collects and disseminates data related mainly to labor economics,
they do publish studies and surveys on their website that ask health,
occupational illness, workplace injuries and health insurance related
questions:
- National Longitudinal Survey of Youth
- National Longitudinal Surveys of Young Women and Mature Women
- National Longitudinal Survey of Young Men and Older Men
- Injuries, Illnesses and Fatalities
U.S. Department of Health
and Human Services
The US Department of Health and Human Services collects and publishes
data related to health, disability, human services, and science.
Agency for Healthcare
Research and Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) publishes
evidence-based information on health care outcomes; quality; and cost,
use, and access. Data available on this site include:
- Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
- Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
- HIV and AIDS Costs and Use (HIVnet)
Surveillance,
Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program
SEER is a program of the National Cancer Institute. Statistics
available from this site include tables, graphs and maps of cancer
incidence, mortality, prevalence, and the probability of developing or
dying from cancer.
National Center for PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder)
The National Center for PTSD (NCPTSD) aims
to advance the clinical care and social welfare of U.S. Veterans
through research, education and training on PTSD and stress-related
disorders.
National Mental Health Information Center (SAMHSA)
The SAMHSA Health Information Network (SHIN) includes the
National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI)
and the
National Mental Health Information Center (NMHIC)
. SHIN connects the behavioral health workforce and the general public
to the latest information on the prevention and treatment of mental and
substance use disorders.
National Institute of Mental Health
The NIMH is
the largest scientific organization in the world dedicated to research
focused on the understanding, treatment, and prevention of mental
disorders and the promotion of mental health. This site includes statistics and information on specific mental health topics, as well as information on research funding and clinical trials.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait