Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Psychology  Tags: psychology tests measures psycinfo  

This guide presents select print & electronic resources in psychology available through the University of Miami Libraries and open access web sites.
Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.miami.edu/psychology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  

Looking for book chapters & book reviews?

  • PsycBOOKS  
    PsycBOOKS™ contains full text in Portable Document Format (PDF) of scholarly book titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
  • PsycCRITIQUES  
    PsycCRITIQUES™, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is an electronic serial of book reviews featuring full text reviews of current scholarly and professional books in psychology.
 

Core psychology databases

The following databases are your best bets when you are trying to locate articles and research pertaining to psychology. See the "Additional databases" section below for other suggestions.

START HERE if you don't know what journal you need or if you want to search across many sources.

  • PsycINFO  
    PsycINFO, published by the American Psychological Association, is the most comprehensive and important index to research journals, books and dissertations in psychology. Select "change database" to search PsycINFO, Medline, & other databases all at once.
  • PsycARTICLES  
    PsycARTICLES provides full-text access to articles from 63 authoritative, peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Click for a complete list of journals
  • MEDLINE (EBSCO)  
    MEDLINE indexes articles selected from international biomedical journals. The service contains a broad range of medical topics relating to clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
  • MEDLINE (OVID)  
    MEDLINE indexes articles selected from international biomedical journals. The service contains a broad range of medical topics relating to clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
  • SCOPUS  
    Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources that focus on the life, physical, health, and social sciences.
  • Web of Science  
    Web of Science provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Additional Databases

These database represent other sources of excellent, high-quality materials pertaining to the field of psychology and related subjects.

  • Animal Behavior Abstracts  
    Animal Behavior Abstracts indexes and abstracts significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.
  • Cochrane Library  
    Cochrane Reviews are full text articles reviewing the effects of health care. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias.
  • ERIC (CSA platform)  
    The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, is the world's largest source of education research and information.
  • ETOH Alcohol & Alcohol Problems Database  
    ETOH is the most comprehensive database of research literature covering all aspects of the alcohol abuse and alcoholism.ETOH is produced by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), and contains approximately 100,000 records.
  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide  
    Family & Society Studies Worldwide (formerly Family Studies Database) indexes and abstracts English language research in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, and Human Development.
  • FRANCIS  
    Indexes over 4000 journals in the disciplines Psychology, Arts and Literature, Philosophy, and Religion.
  • Journal Citation Reports (ISI)  
    ISI Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a multidisciplinary database that presents statistical data useful for determining the relative importance of journals within 224 predefined subject categories.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts  
    This service indexes and abstracts literature worldwide on linguistics and language behavior for researchers and practitioners in psychology, communication, education, language studies and related areas.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook  
    Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros Institute) contains information about and reviews of over 1,000 commercially available English-language standardized tests.
  • Neurosciences Abstracts  
    Neurosciences Abstracts covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research studies but also including such neural diseases as Alzheimer's.
  • PILOTS database  
    The PILOTS bibliographic database, covers the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress.The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
  • PsycEXTRA  
    PsycEXTRA, a gray literature database, is a companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. Most of the content was written for professionals and published outside of peer-reviewed journals--thus this is NOT a good source for peer-reviewed journal articles.
  • Psychiatry Online  
    Includes the DSM-IV
  • PubMED  
    The PubMed database contains (1) citations to journal articles included in MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. (2) PubMed also provides access to the molecular biology databases included in The National Center for Biotechnology Information's Entrez retrieval system.
  • SCOPUS  
    Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. It includes 100% Medline coverage, too!
  • Social Sciences Full-Text  
    Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
    Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Tests in Print  
    A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print. TIP includes the test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date, authors.
  • VioLit: Violence Research Literature Database  
    VioLit, the Violence Research Literature database of the Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence, University of Colorado, indexes books, journal articles, and reports.
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait