Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Psychology  Tags: psychology tests measures psycinfo  

This guide presents select print & electronic resources in psychology available through the University of Miami Libraries and open access web sites.
Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.miami.edu/psychology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Resources             Print Page
  

DSM-IV

The DSM-IV is a manual published by the American Psychiatric Association and covers all mental health disorders for both children and adults. It also lists known causes of these disorders, statistics in terms of gender, age at onset, and prognosis as well as some research concerning the optimal treatment approaches. The University of Miami Libraries provide online access to this resource.

Psychology Dictionaries

 
 

Selection of Psychology Encyclopedias

  • Comprehensive clinical psychology
    Call Number: RC467 .C597 1998 (Richter Reference)
    Written by well-known scholars and clinicians, this impressive reference covers all areas of clinical psychology. The first four volumes address large domains: volumes 1 and 2 describe the historical, theoretical, and scientific foundations and professional issues; volume 3 explores the role of research; volume 4 looks at assessment. Clinicians will find volume 4 particularly useful for its range of assessment strategies (memory, learning, behavioral, legal, forensic, etc.) and excellent scholarly reviews of the breadth and gaps in knowledge of assessment. Some chapters would be enhanced by a case study, clinical summary, or discussion of risk factors or assessment complications.
  • Encyclopedia of applied psychology
    Call Number: BF636 .E54 2004 (Richter Reference)
    This encyclopedia is an excellent general guide to applied psychology. Its 300 articles range from "Academic Failure, Prevention of," through "Cognitive Aging" and "Personality Assessment," to "Youth, Employment of." The signed articles, arranged alphabetically, examine both the theoretical bases of their subjects and the application of theory and research to practical problems.
  • Encyclopedia of health psychology
    Call Number: R726.7 .E53 2004 (Richter Reference)
    The Encyclopedia of Health Psychology offers students, researchers, and practitioners a comprehensive reference for understanding the behavioral, emotional, and social influences on health. Featuring over 200 entries from more than 150 leading practitioners, researchers, and educators, it provides the extensive, accessible, and current coverage that this multidisciplinary field requires.
  • Encyclopedia of psychology
    Call Number: BF31 .E52 2000 (Richter Reference)
    This is also available via PsycBOOKS!

    This joint effort of the American Psychological Association and Oxford University Press has more than 1,500 alphabetically arranged, signed entries, including nearly 400 biographies. Eight years in the works, it was edited by Alan E. Kazdin (psychology, Yale) and reflects the efforts of some 1,400 contributors. A veritable who's who in psychology and its related disciplines forms the panel of editors and writers.

  • Encyclopedia of the human brain
    Call Number: QP376 .E586 2002 (Richter Reference)
    Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this four-volume encyclopedia contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world. The Encyclopedia articles range in size from 5-30 printed pages each, and contain a definition paragraph, glossary, outline, and suggested readings, in addition to the body of the article.
  • The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science
    Call Number: BF31 .E52 2001 (Richter Reference)
  • The MIT encyclopedia of the cognitive sciences
    Call Number: BF311 .M556 1999 (Richter Reference)
    The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences (MITECS) is a landmark, comprehensive reference work that represents the methodological and theoretical diversity of this changing field. At the core of the encyclopedia are 471 concise entries, from Acquisition and Adaptationism to Wundt and X-bar Theory.
 
 

Selection of Psychology Handbooks

  • Handbook of psychology
    Call Number: BF121 .H1955 2003 (Richter Reference)
    Comprehensive, twelve volume set.
  • Handbook of racial & ethnic minority psychology
    Call Number: GN502 .H3635 2003 (Richter Reference)
    This handbook presents a thorough, scholarly overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States. It covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience.
  • The handbook of brain theory and neural networks
    Call Number: QP363.3 .H36 2003 (9th floor stacks)
    A key feature is the introductory background article in part 1, with an overview of the whole field. Part 2 is a very helpful set of 22 "Road Maps" to enable readers to look for the articles in part 3 that are most relevant to their special interests, e.g., vision, psychology, or artificial intelligence.
  • The handbook of evolutionary psychology
    Call Number: BF698.95 .H36 2005
    The first five contributions examine the justification and methods of the field, as well as current controversial issues. Groups of papers dealing with evolutionary psychology's treatments of survival, mating, parenting and kinship, and group living follow. Next come six papers exploring the contributions evolutionary psychology can make to current psychological disciplines and two chapters on the connections between evolutionary psychology and the fields of law and literature. The work concludes with an afterword by evolutionary biologist Richard Dawkins, whose ideas have influenced the field of evolutionary psychology.
  • The Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy
    Call Number: RC55 .M4 2006 (Richter Reference)
    The Merck Manual is organized, like most internal medicine textbooks, into organ systems, such as heart, lungs, gastrointestinal system, muscular system, etc., dealing with each major disease of that system in turn, in the standard format of diagnosis (symptoms), prognosis and treatment.
  • The Praeger handbook of education and psychology
    Call Number: LB1051 .P635 2007 (Richter Reference)
    Cognition, mind, counseling psychology, lesson plans, learning styles, and Vygotsky are just a few of the many subjects discussed in this exciting work. This work, a rethinking of the field of school psychology, will be an essential resource for anyone interested in teaching and learning.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait