How to find the stacks
To get to the stacks, you must go to the 2nd floor of Richter Library. If you are getting off of the elevator, make a right. If you take the stairs, proceed straight toward the elevators and take a left. The stacks elevators will located down the hall; look for the hanging sign that reads "Stacks Elevators".
If you need to know what floor to go to, click on stack tower locations.
How to read a call number
How to read a citation
When you find a scholarly journal article that you like, make sure to check the references at the end of their article. Why? Because you may find other important articles that could contribute to your research.
First, let’s decipher a citation:
Bisconti, T. L., Bergeman, C. S., & Boker, S. M. (2006). Social support as a predictor of variability: An
The authors: T.L. Bisconti, C.S. Bergeman, and S.M. Boker.
When it was published: 2006
Journal article title: Social support as a predictor of variability: an examination of the adjustment trajectories of recent widows
Journal title: Psychology and Aging
Volume number: 21(sometimes there may be an issue number, too. Sometimes it’s not listed!)
Pages: 590-599
To find this article:
Go to IBISWEB http://ibisweb.miami.edu/
Enter the JOURNAL title (Psychology and Aging)
From the drop-downs, select “Title” and “Journals & Other Serials”
Hit Search
Select “Psychology and Aging [electronic resource]”
Click on Full text available from Journals@Ovid PsycArticles: 1986 to present
Find the volume number and pages (volume 21; there is an issue number: 3. How did I know this? Because of the page numbers).
Select “Ovid Full Text”; read article and/or print
How to find books
To find out if the University of Miami Libraries own a particular book and where it is located, you must first search IBISWEB, the Library’s web-based catalog.
To search by topic or keyword:
- select "keyword" from the drop-down menu
- enter your search term or terms
- select what collection you would like to search ("view entire collection" is the default; other options include: journals & other serials, DVDs/AV & microforms, reference, etc.).
To search by author:
- select "author" from the drop-down menu
- enter the author's last name (eg. Dickens). If the author has a common last name, enter the last name, comma, first initial or first name (eg. Dickens, C or Dickens, Charles).
For more details on how to find a book, please see the University of Miami Libraries' Guide to Finding Books.
Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Sources vs. Popular Sources
This 3 minute video was created and developed by the Peabody Library at Vanderbilt University. You will need headphones to listen to the speaker.

Loading Video Clip...
How to find articles
To find articles published in journals, magazines, or newspapers:
- Use a database or index to search by subject to identify existing articles written on your topic. This step works best when you don't know what you are looking for or you want to identify many articles.
OR - Search
the IBISWEB Catalog by the journal, magazine or newspaper title to
determine if the University Libraries own a copy online or in print and
where the print copy is located. This step works best when you know what you are looking for (i.e. you have the citation information).
Selecting a database:
- You can use the librarians' LibGuides to help you select the appropriate database in your area.
OR - Go to the library homepage, click on databases & indexes, and either choose a subject (to peruse the databases in a subject area) or choose a letter of the alphabet (to locate a known database, i.e. you know you need 'Academic Search Premier' so you will click on 'A').
How to find journals
To locate specific journals (i.e. you know the name) you may do any of the following:
- Go to the IBISWEB Library Catalog to determine whether or not the library has a print or online/electronic subscription to a journal.
- Select "Title" from the drop-down menu
- Enter the journal title
- Select "Journals and Other Serials" from the second drop-down.
- Click "Search"
- If we have the journal, it will appear on the results page.
- If you are only interested in searching electronic journals, go to the E-Journals web page.
- You can locate journals by conducting a word search or by browsing the lists by subject.
- You can locate journals by conducting a word search or by browsing the lists by subject.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait