Top databases
The following databases are your best bets when you are trying to locate articles and research pertaining to neuroscience.
START HERE if you don't know what journal you need or if you want to search across many sources.
- Neuroscience Abstracts
Covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research studies but also including such neural diseases as Alzheimer's. - PsycINFO
PsycINFO, published by the American Psychological Association, is the most comprehensive and important index to research journals, books and dissertations in psychology. - PubMed The PubMed database contains citations to journal articles included in MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. The Entrez database system includes nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, macromolecular structures, and whole genomes.
- MEDLINE (OvidSP) In addition to medical research and practice, subject coverage includes allied health, the biological and physical sciences, psychology, sociology, the humanities and information science.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
MEDLINE indexes articles selected from international biomedical journals. The service contains a broad range of medical topics relating to clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more. - SCOPUS
Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. It includes 100% Medline coverage, too! - Web of Science
Web of Science provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Additional Databases
These database represent other sources of excellent, high-quality materials pertaining to the field of neuroscience, psychology, and related disciplines.
- Animal Behavior Abstracts Animal Behavior Abstracts indexes and abstracts significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.
- Cochrane Library Cochrane Reviews are full text articles reviewing the effects of health care. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide Family & Society Studies Worldwide (formerly Family Studies Database) indexes and abstracts English language research in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, and Human Development.
- Journal Citation Reports (ISI)
ISI Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a multidisciplinary database that presents statistical data useful for determining the relative importance of journals within 224 predefined subject categories. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This service indexes and abstracts literature worldwide on linguistics and language behavior for researchers and practitioners in psychology, communication, education, language studies and related areas.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros Institute) contains information about and reviews of over 1,000 commercially available English-language standardized tests.
- PsycEXTRA
PsycEXTRA, a gray literature database, is a companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. Most of the content was written for professionals and published outside of peer-reviewed journals--thus this is NOT a good source for peer-reviewed journal articles. - Psychiatry Online Includes the DSM-IV
- Social Sciences Full-Text Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
- Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Tests in Print
A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print. TIP includes the test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date, authors.
Subject Guide |
Jameatris JohnsonContact Info:
Otto G. Richter Library, Rm. 347F
1300 Memorial Dr.
Coral Gables, FL. 33124-0320
Send Email
Subjects:
Africana Studies, Anthropology, Psychology, Sociology and Women's & Gender Studies
Otto G. Richter Library, Rm. 347F
1300 Memorial Dr.
Coral Gables, FL. 33124-0320
Send Email
Subjects:
Africana Studies, Anthropology, Psychology, Sociology and Women's & Gender Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait